December 20, 2014

Jordan Miles Civil Suit: Court Chronology Quick Reference

Click the red titles below to access the full court blog for that day.

Monday 16 July 2012 – Day 1

  • Jury selection.

    Tuesday 17 July 2012 – Day 2

  • Jury selection
  • Opening remarks and jury instructions from Judge Gary L. Lancaster

    Opening statements

  • Opening statement from J. Kerrington Lewis, Jordan Miles’ lawyer
  • Opening statement from Jim Wymard, officer Sisak’s lawyer
  • Opening statement from Bryan Campbell, officer Saldutte’s lawyer

    Wednesday 18 July 2012 – Day 3

    Opening statements

  • Opening statement from Robert Leight, officer Ewing’s lawyer.

    Witnesses

  • Patricia Porter, Jordan Miles’ grandmother
  • Terez Miles, Jordan Miles’ mother
  • Jamiah Anderson, Jordan Miles’ friend and onetime girlfriend.

    Thursday 19 July 2012 – Day 4

    Witnesses

  • Melissa Pearlman, CAPA High School Principal
  • Jordan Miles, plaintiff
  • Video testimony of Dr. Fenton, treated Jordan in UPMC Shadyside Emergency Room one day after the incident.

    Friday 20 July-Sunday 22 July 2012 – Recess

    There is no court on Friday-Sunday. The one exception will be if jury deliberation needs to take place on a Friday.

    Monday 23 July 2012 – Day 5

    Witnesses

  • Conclusion of video testimony of Dr. Fenton, treated Jordan in UPMC Shadyside Emergency Room one day after the incident.
  • Dr. Maria Twichell, Jordan’s physiatrist, a doctor who specializes in Post-Concussion Syndrome.
  • Nate Harper, Pittsburgh police chief

    Tuesday 24 July 2012 – Day 6

    Witnesses

  • Nate Harper, Pittsburgh police chief
  • Monica Wooding, former neighbor of Jordan Miles
  • R. Paul McCauley, expert witness in police proceedure

    Wednesday 25 July 2012 – Day 7

    Witnesses

  • Dr. Jay Leathers, Jordan’s psychiatrist
  • James L. Kenkel, Professor of Economics at the University of Pittsburgh

    Thursday 26 July 2012 – Day 8

    Witnesses

  • David C. Wright, police “Use of Force” expert and trainer
  • Officer Michael Saldutte, defendant

    Friday 28 July-Sunday 29 July 2012 – Recess

    There is no court on Friday-Sunday. The one exception will be if jury deliberation needs to take place on a Friday.

    Monday 30 July 2012 – Day 9

    Witnesses

  • Patricia Coleman, neighbor
  • A-Ron Roberts, neighbor
  • Ryan Allen, friend of Jordan
  • Charles Henderson, police sergeant who talked to Jordan Miles at the hospital
  • Officer David Sisak, defendant

    Tuesday 31 July 2012 – Day 10

    Witnesses

  • Officer David Sisak, defendant
  • Officer Richard Ewing, defendant

    Wednesday 1 August 2012 – Day 11

    Witnesses

  • Casey Rotherman (sp?), Jordan’s manager at CVS
  • Dr. Thomas P. Martin, ER doctor at West Penn Hospital
  • Joseph Stine, police expert

    Thursday 2 August 2012 – Day 12

    Closing Arguments

  • James Wymard, officer Sisak’s lawyer
  • Bryan Campbell, officer Saldutte’s lawyer
  • Bob Leight, officer Ewing’s lawyer
  • J. Kerrington Lewis, Jordan Miles’ lawyer
  • Jury began deliberation at 3pm